Anti-Cancer

Icon

Information about Preventing, Fighting and Beating Cancer

Sleep

When we sleep that’s when the body goes to work. The body starts looking for things that are out of whack and starts to fix them and clean our system. I don’t know where I heard this but the rule of thumb is to sleep before midnight and sleep for about eight hours. The thinking goes it takes about 5-6 hours for the body to ramp up its fixing and cleaning activities so you want to give your body that chance for maximum effectiveness.

I wish I had the source for this. Back when I was frantically researching cancer when my brother was ill I came across a study conducted at Harvard. The study looked at interns or nurses that worked during the night and found that their rate of cancer was much higher than normal. The researchers wanted to find out why and it led them to an understanding of how our body works: that our body starts to heal itself when we sleep at night and for a certain number of hours.

Sleep early, sleep well, and give your body a chance to heal itself.

Filed under: Uncategorized

